Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Date15th May 2018
Time12:00 - 15:00
VenueHilton Park Lane, London
Price £140.00 (Members) £140.00 (Non-Members)
All prices exclude VAT
Sponsored By

Hilton Park Lane, 22 Park Lane, London, W1K 1BE

Contact Details: For sponsorship contact Lesley Ecob on 01509 678167 or Natalie Burrows on 01926 513741

An IGEM and EUA event
About The Event
Gas Industry Awards 2018

The Institution of Gas Engineers & Managers (IGEM) and the Energy & Utilities Alliance (EUA) are pleased to announce the winners of the Gas Industry Awards 2018.

This year's champions were presented with their certificates and trophies at a prestigious awards lunch hosted earlier today (Tuesday 15th May), by Journalist and Broadcaster Jennie Bond at London's Park Lane Hilton.

There were 10 categories of award followed by three special awards:

The winning individuals and organisations were:

  • Manager of the Year sponsored by Radius Systems - Wez Little, Synthotech
  • Engineer of the Year sponsored by British Gas - John White, Synthotech
  • Young Person's Achievement Award sponsored by Morrison Utility Services - Andy Lewis, Cadent
  • Safety Award sponsored by GISG and Gas Tag - Balfour Beatty for GDSP loss time injury record
  • Energy Efficiency Award sponsored by SMS Plc - Wales & West Utilities for Heat Pumps without Tears
  • Innovation Project Award sponsored by National Grid - Taunton Deane Borough Council in partnership with Gas Tag for Technology for Compliance
  • Customer Service Award sponsored by Penspen - Hannah Moseley, British Gas
  • Innovation Product Award sponsored by Wales& West Utilities - ULC Robotics and tRIIO in partnership with Cadent for the M1 live mains inspection crawler system
  • Leadership Award sponsored by SGN - Joanne Giles, Cadent
  • Company of the Year sponsored by WRc - Wales& West Utilities

Special awards:

  • Apprentice of the Year sponsored by IGEM and EUA - John Brady, SGN

Introduced this year in recognition of the government's Year of the Engineer campaign designed to inspire the next generation to pursue a career in engineering. John Brady has made a significant contribution to his workplace and setting a fine example to future engineering apprentices.

  • Special Recognition Award - Adrian McConnell, Gas Safety Trust

The judges decided that Adrian was worthy of receiving the special recognition award for his excellent track record of improving gas safety.

  • Outstanding Achievement Award - Chris Clarke, Wales & West Utilities

The judges said "Former IGEM President Chris Clarke has been at the forefront of everything relating to the future of our industry, thinking not only about the possibilities but also the practicalities of the myriad of solutions that are out there. He is a true leader and a worthy winner."

The Gas Industry Awards that have been uncovering extraordinary talent and highly innovative work for over 20 years. Mike Foster, Chief Executive of EUA said "The calibre of nominations this year was extremely high. The gas industry boasts some of the UK's most talented people and innovative companies, so winning is a huge honour."

Event organisers IGEM and EUA offer their thanks the sponsors of the awards lunch Smarter Metering Services and Towngas and those organisations who sponsored each category of award.

Neil Atkinson, Chief Executive Officer of IGEM said "This year's event was attended by over 650 representatives from across the gas sector making it a fantastic opportunity to network with key stakeholders and influential members of our industry as well as celebrate the fantastic work that is being undertaken. I look forward to next year."

Bookings for this event are no longer available.