Supporting the gas industry since 1863
Date15th May 2018
Time12:00 - 15:00
VenueHilton Park Lane, London
Price £140.00 (Members) £140.00 (Non-Members)
All prices exclude VAT

Sponsored By


Hilton Park Lane, 22 Park Lane, London, W1K 1BE

Contact Details: For sponsorship contact Lesley Ecob on 01509 678167 or Natalie Burrows on 01926 513741

An IGEM and EUA event

2018 finalists

The Gas Industry Award 2018 finalists have been announced.

Having deliberated over nearly 100 entries into the prestigious awards, the Energy and Utilities Alliance (EUA) and the Institution of Gas Engineers and Managers (IGEM) have announced the shortlisted nominees for this year's ceremony.

The judging panel, made up of leading figures from across the transmission, distribution and downstream gas sectors, had the difficult task of choosing the shortlist from a stack of extremely competitive entries.

The winners of the 10 categories will be named at a spectacular award ceremony at London's Park Lane Hilton on May 15, which will see around 600 gas industry professionals come together to celebrate the achievements of the industry.

Sheila Lauchlan, IGEM President and Chair of Judges, said: "Once again, this year's shortlist is a masterclass of innovation, engineering excellence and creativity.

"The entrants have excelled in demonstrating their professionalism and ingenuity and in this the Year of Engineering, we are fortunate to have so many talented people working in our industry.

"Congratulations go to all our shortlisted entrants and we look forward to seeing you at the awards ceremony on 15 May."

Andrew Keating, President of EUA, said: "This is the second time I have judged the IGEM & EUA Gas Industry Awards. The 2018 entries are again of the highest quality and the level of competition was tough, making it extremely difficult to select a winner in each of the categories.

"In recognition of those categories where we received a higher number of entrants we have shortlisted more than normal. I am looking forward to the awards luncheon, where we'll see these most deserved of winners collect their awards."

The finalists are:

Manager of the Year

Oliver Lancaster, Wales & West Utilities
Wez Little, Synthotech Limited
Adrian McConnell, Gas Safety Trust

Engineer of the Year

Matthew Blackburn, HomeServe Membership Limited
Tom Greenwood, QEM Solutions
Danny O'Malley, SGN Natural Gas
John White,  Synthotech Limited

Safety Award

Balfour Beatty for GDSP loss time injury record
HomeServe Membership Limited for their Road Risk initiative
Morrison Utility Services and M Group Services Plant & Fleet Solutions for their People and Plant Interface
PSS Hire for The Click Stick

Innovation Product Award

Gas Tag for Safety Through Technology
Rosen in partnership with Northern Gas Networks for their PE syphon with remote monitoring
ULC Robotics, tRIIO and Cadent for their M1 live mains inspection crawler system

Innovation Project Award

Cadent, Advanced Plasma Power, Progressive Energy, Wales & West Utilities and CNG Fuels for their BioSNG project
Synthotech and ALH Systems in partnership with Northern Gas Networks for Project STASS
Taunton Deane Borough Council and Gas Tag for Technology for Compliance
Wales & West Utilities for their pioneering data capture

Company of the Year Award

SGN Limited
ULC Robotics
Wales & West Utilities

Customer Service Award

Hannah Moseley, British Gas
SGN Limited for their 3-year CX transformation
tRIIO (Morrison Utility Services and Skanska UK) for their ground-breaking industry achievements

Leadership Award

Jo Giles, Cadent
Maxine Long, National Grid Metering
Bethan Winter, Wales & West Utilities

Young Persons' Achievement

Samuel Jones, Wales & West Utilities
Andy Lewis, Cadent
Hazel Richardson, DNV GL
Stephen Ward, Balfour Beatty

Energy Efficiency Award

Morrison Utility Services for their Environmental Awareness Training
Wales and West Utilities for their Heat Pumps Without Tears

Bookings for this event are no longer available.